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Featuring:

Legislative & Case Law Updates
Injury Prevention: Head to Toe
Claims Handling: Full Body Scan
Claims Resolution: Brainwork
Operation! An Interactive Game

State Board of Workers’ Compensation

2013 Regional
Educational Series

The Honorable Judge Frank McKay, Chairman of
the Georgia State Board of Workers” Compensa-
tion, along with Board Directors, Judge Stephen
Farrow and Judge Elizabeth Gobeil, will visit vari-
ous cities throughout Georgia as part of the 2013
regional educational series on workers” compen-
sation. The Board, under their leadership, will be
conducting five seminars throughout Georgia in
2013 to educate those who work within Geor-
gia’s workers’ compensation system or who want
to learn more about the workers” compensation
system. This educational training program will
provide valuable information for employers and
self-insured employers, human resource and risk
managers, claims adjusters, rehabilitation spe-
cialists, medical service providers and workers’
compensation attorneys and paralegals.

The program will include information regarding
new legislative and case law developments, up-
dates on appellate decisions, and rules chang-
es. A panel of workers’ compensation attorneys
will provide tips on injury prevention and drug
testing. The seminar program will include infor-
mation on effective investigation and efficient
management of claims. Various workers’ com-
pensation issues will be explored from the per-
spective of counsel for the injured worker, coun-
sel for the employer, and the adjuster. Aftorneys
and adjusters will present tips on litigation versus
mediation of claims.

An application has been submitted to the Geor-
gia Nurses Association for approval of (3.58)
contact hours. Please call Hilary Williams at the
State Board of Workers” Compensation at 404-
656-5656 for more information.

Additional applications have been submitted
for approval for the following professions: Legal
(CLE); CCM / CDMS / CRC; Insurance Agents/
Adjusters (GA License Number Only); and Hu-
man Resource (HRCI).

WHO SHOULD ATTEND?

B Any and All System Participants

Register early. Space is limited.
You can register online with a check
or credit card.

" \
IUITION
You can attend this informative seminar for only
$85. This includes all continuing education fees,
course handouts and refreshments. Discount given

for multiple registrations from same company.

CEU’s have been applied for in the
following professions:
Insurance/Claims/Workers’ Comp. Adjusters (must
have GA license number), Rehabilitation
(CRC, CDMS, CCM & GNA),

Legal (CLE’s), Human Resource Professionals (HRCI)

An application has been submitted to the Georgia
Nurses Association for approval of 3.58 contact
hours. Please call Hilary Williams at the State Board
of Workers’ Compensation at 404-656-5656 for
more information.

$500 Sponsorship Opportunity Includes:

B 1 Complimentary registration to all cities
B Recognition in attendee’s packet &

at sign in all cities
B Recognition via PowerPoint presentation

during seminar
B Marketing products accepted
Accreditation forms will be available at the

completion of the program.
Please email williamsh@sbwc.ga.gov
for more information or
visit our website at www.sbwc.georgia.gov



8:00 a.m. - 8:30 a.m.

Registration

VOTKETS JLOMPENSUTION Y METANUTOMY 0T XTKA MM

8:30 a.m. — 8:35 a.m.

Welcome & Introduction

Executive Director State Board of Workers’ Compensation

8:35 a.m. - 8:45 a.m.

State of the Board
A discussion of current events at the State Board of
Workers” Compensation.

Honorable Frank R. McKay Chairman
State Board of Workers’ Compensation

8:45 a.m. — 8:55 a.m.

Legislative Update
A recap of the 2013 Legislative Session.

Honorable Stephen Farrow Director
State Board of Workers’ Compensation

8:55 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.

Rules Update
An update on recent changes to the Board Rules.

Administrative Law Judge
State Board of Workers” Compensation

9:00 a.m. — 9:10 a.m.

Appellate Division Case Summaries
A brief synopsis of recent important cases that illustrates the practical
impact of efficient claims handling of a workers’ compensation case.

Honorable Elizabeth Gobeil Director
State Board of Workers’ Compensation

9:10 a.m. - 9:15 a.m.

Kids’ Chance of Georgia
They Are Our Kids Too.

Kids’ Chance of Georgia Representative

9:‘5 a.m. — 9:50 a.m.

Injury Prevention — Head to Toe
A review and examination of Posted Panels, Bill of Rights, Drug Testing,
Rycroft Defense, Safety Training and Ergonomics.

Honorable Tasca Hagler
State Board of Workers’ Compensation

Luanne Clarke, Esq. / Gary Kazin, Esq.

9:50 a.m. _I o:oo a.m.

BREAK

10:00 a.m. — 10:35 a.m.

Claims Handling — Full Body Scan

An interactive presentation regarding First Reports, Claims
Investigations, Medical Issues, Return to Light Work and more.

Mark Goodman, Esq.

Greg Presmanes, Esq. .
Tom Holder, Esq. / Marvin L. Price, Esq.

Claims Resolution - Brainwork
Litigation vs. Mediation
Tips on determining what resolution is best and when to litigate.

Sy Jenkins
Sedgwick
Local Claimant/Defense Attorney

11:10 a.m. — 11:50 a.m.

Case Law Update
A presentation of new and recent Decisions by the Georgia Court of
Appeals and the Georgia Supreme Court.

Local Administrative Law Judge
State Board of Workers’ Compensation
Local Claimant/Defense Attorney

OPERATION!
A fun and interactive question and answer game where the
audience wins prizes!

The Panel and The Audience

12:30 p.m.

Dates
and
Locations

Friday, April 19, 2013
Columbus, GA

The Hughston Foundation
6262 Veterans Parkway
Columbus, GA 31908
706-494-3365

Grand Prize Drawing

Friday, April 26, 2013
Tifton, GA

UGA Campus Conference
Center

15 RDC Road

Tifton, GA 31793
229-386-3416

Savannah, GA

305 Fahm Street
Savannah, GA 31401
912-651-2005

Wednesday, May 1, 2013 Thursday, May 9, 2013

Coastal Georgia Center

Friday, May 10, 2013
Kennesaw, GA

Kennesaw State University

Athens, GA

Athens Technical College
800 U.S. Highway 29 North
Athens, GA 30601
706-369-5763

3333 Busbee Drive
Kennesaw, GA 30144
706-423-6765

J Kennesaw — May 10, 2013

Self-Insured? (J Yes [ No

Email:
O Athens — May 9, 2013

Discount given for multiple registrations from same company. For information call: 404-656-5656

REGISTRATION FORM

Company
City/State/Zip

Position
Address
Phone

Name
J Savannah - May 1, 2013

O Tifton - April 26, 2013

...$85.00

If you have a disability and need assistance
or accomodation to participate, please

notify us at (404) 656-3697.

Continuing Education Center

State Board of Workers’ Compensation
Training Account -Hilary Williams

270 Peachtree Street, N.W.

Atlanta, Georgia 30303-1299
Cancellation and Refund Policy: Cancellation of preregistration must be made before 4:30 p.m., five working days prior to the seminar. Substitution of personnel is recom-

mended in lieu of cancellation after that date. The full registration fee will be forfeited if you fail to attend or cancel timely.

Check your company type: [ Legal Services [ Employer (3 Medical Services (J Insurance Services [J Rehabilitation Services [J Other: (specify)

If you have a question that you would like answered at the regional seminar please email it to williamsh@sbwc.ga.gov

www.sbwc.georgia.gov OR mail this form with your

check payable to:
Please check which seminar you plan to attend.

3 Columbus - April 19, 2013

You can register online
REGISTRATION FEE........



